Saturday, November 24, 2007

new blog new blog new blog!!!

its a collaboration i'm doing with my friend april and it is called Apricots & Textiles. Apes just posted our first real post (wee!) and it is very nice and worth a skim. check it out!!

http://apricotsandtextiles.blogspot.com

Monday, October 29, 2007

we only come out at night, the days are much too bright



again, i've been neglecting the poor blog. sorry to all three of you who read it.




this weekend was a ton of fun, went to mel's party at the parish with lauren and hannah -- i really didnt think they would both be able to get in but swede got my back. atta boy. he's getting married! im so excited for him


there were new dumb bitches at the beauty bar so they wouldn't let us stay, but we got to talk to mista orth a little bit. he was dressed up like the phantom of the opera, and let me say, it looked swell. he could pull off anything (sort of).





i went dressed as lauren because the skirted leotard i was wearing hasn't fit since i was thirteen. we talked to some metalheads and i gave them cigarettes because being poor sucks, and being from north carolina and poor deserves pity. they were kinda gross. there was one dude at the bb dressed as justin from the dick in a box skit...so ridiculous. i hate people who wear sunglasses at night. what are you trying to hide?


halloween is wednesdayyyyy, and im super excited. im wearing maya's tutu to school and then i'm probably just going to be a ghost. i wanted to be spiderman but i havent found one in my size.



i love this thing. i feel like a spider in it, only i am not going to make the mistake of wearing stark white face paint again. my teeth looked yellow. ugh.
wellwellwell, i have to write an article about the emo's bartenders vs mothra (who would win??) and i have to do a ton of calculus. its 11:11, make a wish

Wednesday, August 15, 2007

hold me wrap me up unfold me i am small and needy warm me up and breathe me

such a long time since july!

I wrote an ass ton of CD reviews for Pop Culture Press Magazine, on newsstands everywhere in October. It comes with a free CD sampler that always rocks, and its going to be fabulous. Misprint Magazine is also going to be printing my "Misprint Guide To High School", a sarcastice little piece I wrote about how fabulous it was to be sixteen. Not really. It's everywhere anyone who's someone goes in Austin, Texas, ie all along 2nd street district, Waterloo Records, Spiderhouse, etc. Sha sha sha.
I leave for san francisco/portland/seattle in three daysszs! Are you going to be around there? I have done this much planning: zero. I'll be sure to take a buttload of pictures though, like I do everywhere.

Here's me keeping an eye on the Derailers in-store at Waterloo earlier this month and photoboothing with khotso and cate:



i entered a guitar hero competition at spidey's earlier tonight, but i was too busy talking to daisy and eric to hear them call my name. whoops? i've also never played the fucking thing in my entire life so i'm fine with it. i'm going to have a good year, i can feeeel it

Saturday, July 7, 2007

If seeing is believing, I believe we have all lost our eyes

Last night was the B Scene party at the Blanton Museum of Art. I went with Maya and Kate and met up with Max there, we ended up talking about his band (Max And Henry), our friends' bands, pineapple, and how these parties are usually just so old people can hook up. The promenade was abuzz with really high-energy conversation and I could just taste the awkward pauses. Ick.
I left my camera at home otherwise I would be posting pictures as well :(
We walked around the upstairs modern-ey part and I showed him the painting the Japanese guy did that I love a whole lot, and the bone room, and the badass huge mesh painting/photography/multimedia thingy I love oh so dearly. He was impressed. We made it a date to go back and look at it on shrooms. I'm stoked stoked stoked!
Brazos was playing in the big common area and they were really really good. Met up with Jared Van Fleet, who is home for only a little bit before he goes back out on tour. I got a fake tattoo between my shoulderblades of two guys wrestling each other. It looked very very fake but one guy at Waterloo today thought it was real. Ha ha ha Nico, you are a clever one aren't you now. Everyone started to leave around ten-ish (lame) and Max wanted me to go with him to the Belaire CD release show/party at Emo's but since we have both had little boo-boos with the law recently we decided to play it safe and go to Kerbey Lane. Some girl from a style website asked to take my picture and immediately proceeded to drop her camera on the ground. Ouchies. My photo isn't posted yet but I'll update once it is. Had some foodstuffs, rented SLC Punk at Vulcan Video and I spent the night at his house. Woke up at the crack of dawn to go home and take a shower, blah blah blah.
I'm exhausted beyond words. Photos will be posted once they commme

Thursday, July 5, 2007






Wow, two whole months since my last post! If this blog were a hamster it'd be dead. I'm still working at Waterloo Records downtown, I'm still going to Khabele (although not currently because it is summer) and I just started writing for Pop Culture Press Magazine. I'm a CD reviewer - yesterday when I went to get my package from Luke's house it was huuuuge and had an advance copy of Gogol Bordello's new CD in it. I'm super excited. I already had a copy of that CD but it's really good so I don't mind having two haha.



Lauren is in New York City until August 1st at a Parson's Fashion thingy. I'm not sure exactly what it's called but she's had to sketch out a mini-collection of five dresses and get swatches from different places and she hates all the lets-go-shopping rich bitches and i miss her a lot. She got me a compact and some band-aids from the Marc Jacobs sample sale, they say "that's gonna leave a Marc" and she got Maya a tote bag that says Marc, Jacobs and Marc By Marc Jacobs a thousand times on the front. It's cute.
Tonight is First Thursday down on SoCo and I told Maya I'd take her. It's not terribly exciting unless you're shopping for a new piece, but I like it. My friend Mama Ray's band The Bubbles usually plays on the corner of Elizabeth and South Congress across the street from Guero's and we all blow bubbles and make all the hippies happy. And the church gives out free snowcones. They're the terribly cheap, like they set the ice maker on their fridge to 'crushed' and pour syrup over it but when it's as hot as it is, they're lovely. I think it's going to be nice tonight.
The Blanton's B Scene party is tomorrow night and I'm wicked excited for that. Haha my last post was about the B Scene too. Tres pathetique, non? I like it. I'm going with my family and maybe Adrienne. It's some fabulous people-watching, and plus free food. Good times.
This is going to be a looong post, sorry guys.
I dated and broke up with two boys in the past month:
  • Blake, 21, worked in UPS planes in Dallas. Too old/a virgin/too far away/freaked me out. Bad idea, Tessa.
  • Elias, 17, worked security at the Frank Erwin Center. Stole too much, spray-painted a bright orange whatsit in front of my house, never called. Not good. Very bad news.

And so now I am single and free to flirt with everything that crosses my path, just like old times haha.
Sorry again it took me so long to post but I've been le busy. More later.

Sunday, May 6, 2007

motivation motivation motivate me



The past few weeks have been crazy


I took the SAT yesterday, it was very exciting. The night before me and Lauren went to the B Scene party at the Blanton for a few minutes, long enough for her to tell me scary stories and for me to bum cigarettes off short azn frat boys.





Then we zoomed straight to San Antonio (booo) where we went to a mall and then very lost and watched medical shows for hours.
Repeat on Sunday, only today we got breakfast tacos and went to Target. I got a bunch of white tshirts and half a bikini.



So dull. SO DULL. I missed home.
I finally got a screen name! It's posted all over mySpace, so check it out. It's very exciting. I haven't had one since the seventh grade.

I'm taking a big scary french test tomorrow at a mystery location! The address is at school in my locker. Very handy. It costs $80 too, more than I spent this whole weekend! Wow!

I'm so so so so tired. So tired. Apologies for lack of updation. Goodnight.

Monday, April 16, 2007

thorough exhaustion parts one and two

saturday morning i had a million hour VIR rehearsal and went over to nateryan's stinky apt to borrow a hat. came back at 8ish because padre was driving me crazy and charging me dollars for leaving shoes and cups all over the place? Um okay. it was me, nate, jordan, and ryan party hopping until the wee hours
first we went to this girl melissa's house off tillory (PAST THE MRS BAIRDS FACTORY!) and that was supremely lame, lots of austin high kids and ONE keg. pshah. they made us go outside to smoke cigarettes but not weed: lame. nate brought a thunderbird and we were sitting on the porch having a p-funk when alyssa called and i was left all aloney on my owney but it was aight cause they were having a weird thingy but its all settled now cause shes home
but yeah it was bad. i got lots of looks and jor was wasted as shiiiit
left and met up with jeannie at 32nd and tom green, a Talking Heads and Space themed party. me & nate peed in someone's front yard. there was some guy in a full-out star trek outfit and lots of drunk guys with tinfoil on their heads. big ole dance party inside, jordan got lost, BJ and other nerds who didnt know me (but thought they did) hollered at your girl and someone with a camera was running around filming errthang. then the cops came, ryan peed on a tree, we pulled Jordan off some guy making out with her hardcore and then she proceeded to flip a shit about the po-po and how she couldn’t get a ticket she just couldn’t get a ticket or she couldn’t move out and how much had I had to drink? i settled her pretty head by saying Not Much and promising to sleep in someone's backyard if we couldn't get out of there (we did) and then we picked up dylan m from the office depot parking lot

went back to nateryans house, spent like two hours trying to find weed (we didnt). jordan passed the fuck out on the couch, nate me ryan and dylan fell asleep in nates bed all spooning each other in that order mahaha. made out with dylan m for an extended period of time, but i was drunk so its justified. tried to cuddle with ryan, he sucks and went to sleep on the dirty clothes couch in nates room after 45 minutes ish. Made out with Dylan some more mmmm. He didn’t believe I was sixteen, his was a couple weeks ago. I never mack on younger boys! How unlike me!

went to work at the crack of dawn (10:45 AM) and stole a tank top and talked with DJ Ian Orth about my sex life, he applauded me for my taste in very old men (18-24) and jimmie vaughn tried to walk in on me in the bathroom. WHOA.

Last night I woke up with a nosebleed?!?!??! What the fuck I don’t even do cocaine this doesn’t make any sense at all
sicksicksick
now im at school trying to email something with no internet connection
elwood called me a ho. i dont give a fuck.
tony peck says me and lauren are the only people he trusts in the whole entire country
do you hear that, america? just me and lauren! fuck you! Picked evaclaire some Barbie flowers after my ciggy at the women’s club, i love tony and my dad brought me tacos
today is looking better